Add external users to your workspace team
You can add external members to your workspace on the Members page of your workspace.
Adding external team members is done in the same way as adding internal team members.
Adding an external person who is not yet known in the AAD, is done in a way that is slightly different from adding an already known external user.
If you enter the name of such a new external user in the Find and select a user... box, no matching users will be suggested.
Then enter the email address of the external user in the Find and select a user... box.
A popup appears stating that the external user cannot be found.
-
Click the Invite option.
The Invite External User form opens:
-
Enter the full name of the external user. You can always change this at a later date.
-
Click Next.
Having added the new external user, you'll see what default permission the user is assigned.
You can change or add to the permissions for the new external user.
-
Select any desired additional roles/permissions for your chosen users.
-
After having selected all desired users and possibly extended their default permissions, click the Add members button.
The external user is now displayed on your workspace's Members page, in the External members section, with an email icon indicating an invitation email has been sent to the external user.
When you hover your mouse pointer over the remote user, some action options are presented:
Hover the mouse pointer over the external team member’s tile to have several action options presented:
|
|
The Edit icon at the top right of the external team member’s tile.
|
|
|
Click the Edit role option to edit the permissions for the external team member.
|
|
|
Click the Remove option to remove the external member from the team. |
|
This icon indicates that the invitation email has been sent. The external user will receive the email inviting them to log into PortalTalk and use the workspace to which you added them as a team member.
|
|
|
Click Resend to resend the invitation email to the external user. This option remains available as long as the external user has not yet logged in to PortalTalk. |