The periodic Access Review of your workspace and workspace content
Your workspace may be subject to a periodic Access Review.
This means that PortalTalk regularly requests the workspace owner to verify the desirability/necessity of the user permissions assigned within your workspace and/or to monitor the shared folders/documents.
The workspace category settings determine which of the three parts of the Access Review must be completed for your workspace.
A few days prior to the Access Review due date, PortalTalk sends an email to the owners of the relevant workspace.
If the review has not been completed on the Access Review due date, PortalTalk will send a reminder email to the owners that day and an email to the PortalTalk security officer.
If the owners still fail to perform the Access Review, PortalTalk will begin sending reminder emails to workspace owners. It will keep repeating this until the user has completed all open Access Reviews.
Execute the Access Review
As a workspace owner, you are periodically requested to perform an Access Review for your workspace.
You will receive this request seven days prior to the Access Review expiration date by email and as a notification in your Activity Feed.
Additionally, in your activities dashboard, the Access Reviews to do tile indicates the number of workspaces waiting for an Access Review.
-
Click the Access Reviews to do tile or click the Access Review notification in your Activity Feed.
The Access Reviews To Do panel is displayed:
-
Click the Start option at a workspace to start the Access Review process.
-
Or click the ellipsis menu button for the concerned workspace link, and select the option Access Review.
Note: If the deadline date for the periodic Access Review has passed, only the ellipsis option Access Review is offered.
You must first perform the Access Review before the other options become available again.
Part 1 Review the team composition of the workspace
The Team members of workspace page * is presented:
The Team members of workspace page* displays all team members within your workspace, with the date the user was added to the team, the user type (Owner, Member or Guest) and the date the user most recently logged in to PortalTalk. The external team members are displayed at the top of this list.
*This page will only be presented if your workspace's category settings specify that this part of the Access Review has to be performed.
-
Check if all listed users still need to access your workspace.
-
Check the Remove option for the team members who no longer need access to your workspace.
-
Click the Next button at the bottom right of the page.
Part 2 Review the team members' permissions
The Member permissions in workspace page* is presented:
The Member permissions in workspace page* displays, per remaining team member, all additionally assigned permissions.
This concerns permissions that are assigned in addition to the standard permissions.
*This page will only be presented if your workspace's category settings specify that this part of the Access Review has to be performed.
-
Check, in the Revoke column, the permissions that the concerned team members no longer need to use and which are therefore no longer required.
-
Click the Next button at the bottom right of the page.
Part 3 Review the shared documents
The Shared Documents page* is presented:
The Shared Documents page* lists all shared documents within your workspace and all individual items with unique permissions.
*This page will only be presented if your workspace's category settings specify that this part of the Access Review has to be performed.
-
In the Revoke column, check the items you want to revert to their original permissions.
-
Click Next at the bottom right of the page.
Insight into the Limits of PortalTalk
PortalTalk helps you gain insight into the status of shared documents. However, this is subject to limits. We will explain what these are.
-
We show you a maximum of 75 shared documents. Displaying more is not reasonable. You cannot review more than 75 documents. If there are more, we will not show them now.
-
We quickly check up to 2500 documents in your workspace. Beyond that, checking up to 5,000 documents takes a bit longer. We will show you a status screen and ask for your patience.
-
If there are 10,000 or more documents to check, we unfortunately have to stop; we cannot perform this for you.
At each step, we provide you with a message and explanation of why the Access Review cannot be performed properly. You also have the option to notify your administrator for additional help. We kindly ask you to make use of this. Your workspace currently deviates from the standards, and adjustments are needed to maintain control over it. Your administrator will be able to assist you shortly.
Part 4 Confirm the privacy setting of the workspace
The Privacy Setting page* is presented:
The Privacy Setting page* draws your attention to the current privacy setting of your workspace.
Working in an MS Teams environment should probably reflect the modern way of collaboration, where every user in the organization has as much access to information as possible. Although some information should only be accessible to team members, private workspaces should remain an exception.
*This page will only be presented if your workspace's category settings specify that this part of the Access Review has to be performed.
-
In the Should this still be allowed? section, adjust the privacy setting of your workspace if so required.
-
Click Next at the bottom right of the page.
Part 5 Confirm and apply your choices
The Access Review Summary page is presented:
-
On the Access Review Summary page you can see the choices you made on the previous Access Review pages.
-
If necessary, go back to previous pages to adjust your choices.
-
Click Apply at the bottom right of the Access Review Summary page to apply your chosen actions and finish the Access Review wizard.
The Access Review for the concerned workspace is now complete.
-
Click the Close this popup option to return to the Access Reviews To Do panel, within which the workspace you just completed is no longer listed.